§ 790.01. Unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms.
The crime of Unlicensed Carrying is classified as either a Misdemeanor or Felony in Florida. Classification is dependent upon the type of weapon.
The offense of unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms occurs when a person:
The offense is a First Degree Misdemeanor when a person who is not licensed carries a concealed weapon or electric weapon. This is punishable by imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000.
The offense is a Third Degree Felony when a person who is not licensed carries a concealed firearm. This is punishable by imprisonment of up to 5 years and a fine of up to $5,000.
Defenses to unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms
Some of the defenses to unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms are:
- Concealed Weapons Permit 
- The state of Florida has reciprocity agreements with several other states.
- Exempted activities in the state of Florida include:
- Engaged in or traveling to or from a camping, fishing, or lawful hunting expedition; 
- Transporting a firearm in a private residence; 
- Traveling to and from a gun show; 
- Law enforcement and security officer use; 
- In a Place of Business or a Home; and 
- Placement in a private vehicle’s interior if it is in a case or not easily accessible. 
There are other possible defenses which I can explore with you during our Free Initial Consultation.
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney
Glenn M. Swiatek
Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms in Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or send this form.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule.
Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring when you are charged with unlicensed carrying of concealed weapons or firearms.
- FL § 790.01(3)
- FL § 790.25
- Brunson v. State, 211 So. 3d 96 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2017).