What is aggravated battery of pregnant victim in Florida?
The crime of Aggravated Battery of Pregnant Victim is a Second Degree Felony in Florida which is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
The offense of aggravated battery of pregnant victim occurs when:
- A person intentionally touched or struck victim against her will or intentionally caused bodily harm to victim.
- Victim was pregnant at time of the offense.
- The person committing the aggravated battery knew or should have known that the victim was pregnant.
Some of the defenses to aggravated battery of pregnant victim are:
- There was no specific intent to cause the level of injury that incurred.
- The aggravated battery of pregnant victim was an act of self-defense.
- Lack of knowledge that the victim was pregnant.
Firth v. State: On specific intent.
Small v. State: On knowledge of pregnancy.
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of aggravated battery of pregnant victim in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.