What is Arson – Second Degree?
The crime of Arson in the Second Degree is a Second Degree Felony in Florida and is punishable by imprisonment not exceeding 15 years and a maximum fine of $10,000.
This offense occurs when a person:
The offense of Arson – Second Degree occurs when a person:
Willfully uses fire or an explosion to damage any structure, whether the property be of himself or another.
Defenses to Arson – Second Degree
Some of the defenses to Arson – Second Degree are:
- Exception for Personal Property
- This exception means that if you burn your own property, intentionally or not intentionally, and it is not connected to another crime, such as intent to commit fraud, it may be used as a defense.
- Lack of Intent to Damage the Property of Others
- Accidental fires are not arson.
State v. Mayle, 406 So. 2d 108 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1981).
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach and other areas of Northwest Florida
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of arson – second degree in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.