What is assisted self-murder in Florida?
The crime of Assisted Self-Murder is a Second Degree Felony that is punishable up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 fine.
This offense occurs when:
- Victim is dead.
- Victim committed self-murder.
- Defendant deliberately assisted in the self-murder of victim.
“Self-murder” means the voluntary and intentional taking of one’s own life.
Defenses to Assisted Self-Murder.
- Victim did not commit self-murder.
- Person did not deliberately assist victim.
- Person was forced into assisting victim.
Krischer v. Mclver: On the constitutionality of § 782.08.
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of assisted self-murder in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.