What is Failure by a Sexual Offender to Comply with Registration Requirements (Initially Register, Report, or Provide Registration Items) in Florida?
The crime of Failure by a Sexual Offender to Comply with Registration Requirementsis a Third Degree Felony that is punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
This crime occurs when a:
- Person is a sexual offender or has agreed or stipulated that he has been convicted as a sex offender.
- Person had a place of residence in a County of Florida.
- Person knowingly failed to register in person at Sheriff’s office 48 hours after: establishing a residence, released from custody, having been convicted of an offense requiring registration, updates or changes of information (such as name, address), changes in vehicles or failure to report in person to sheriff’s office to reregister.
Some of the defenses to Failure by a Sexual Offender to Comply with Registration Requirements are:
- Person is not a sexual offender.
- Person did not act knowingly.
- Person tried to comply but was misinformed.
Griffin v. State: On tried to comply but unable due to closed business.
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of Failure by a Sexual Offender to Comply with Registration Requirements (Initially Register, Report, or Provide Registration Items) in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.