What is Failure by a Sexual Predator to Comply with Registration Requirements (Failure to Report to Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) in Florida?

Failure to register

The crime of Failure by a Sexual Predator to Comply with Registration Requirements is a Third Degree Felony that is punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

This crime occurs when a:

  1. Person is a sexual predator or has agreed or stipulated that he has been convicted as a sex predator.
  2. Person has an established residence in Florida. 
  3. Person was not incarcerated and registered with the appropriate Sheriff’s office.
  4. Person failed to report in person within 48 hours after initial registration to a driver license officer of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to receive a driver’s license, renew their driver’s license, obtain identification as a sexual predator, or failed to provide the DMV with information regarding person residence being a motor vehicle, trailer, mobile home, manufactured home, or vessel.

Defenses to Failure by a Sexual Predator to Comply with Registration Requirements.  

  • Person is not a sexual predator.
  • Person tried to comply but was misinformed.

References:

State v. Robinson: On Act applying until offender is released from custody.

Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation

If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of Failure by a Sexual Predator to Comply with Registration Requirements (Failure to Report to Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.

Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.

Share