What is Use of a Self-Defense Weapon in Florida?
The crime of Use of a Self-Defense Weapon is a Third Degree Felony that is punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
The offense Use of a Self-Defense Weapon occurs when a person:
- Person intentionally used a self-defense chemical spray, nonlethal stun gun, nonlethal electric weapon, or dart firing stun gun against victim.
- Victim was at the time a law enforcement officer.
- Person knew victim was a law enforcement officer.
- At the time of the incident, victim was engaged in the lawful performance of his/her duties.
Some of the defenses to Use of a Self-Defense Weapon are:
- Person did not act intentionally.
- Person did not know the victim was a law enforcement officer.
- The law enforcement officer was not engaged in their lawful duties.
Contact Criminal Defense Attorney Glenn M. Swiatek for a Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested or believe you will soon be arrested for the offense of Use of a Self-Defense Weapon in Destin, Shalimar, Crestview, Ft. Walton Beach or other areas of Northwest Florida please call us today at (850) 609‑0940 or contact us online.
Initial Office Consults are free, and I will make myself available to suit your schedule. Get the peace of mind that an attorney with over twenty-three years of criminal law experience can bring.